Biotransformation of Food-Grade and NanometricTiO2in the Oral–Gastro–Intestinal Tract: DrivingForces and Effect on the Toxicity

#1 by Lesley , Thu Dec 17, 2020 8:14 pm

Arianna Marucco 1, Marion Prono 2, David Beal 2, Enrica Alasonati 3, Paola Fisicaro 3,Enrico Bergamaschi 4, Marie Carriere 2,*and Ivana Fenoglio 1,*
1 Department of Chemistry, University of Torino, 10125 Torino, Italy; ariannamaria.marucco@unito.it
2 Chimie Interface Biologie pour l’Environnement, la Santéet la Toxicologie (CIBEST),University Grenoble Alpes, CEA, CNRS, IRIG, SyMMES, F-38000 Grenoble, France;marion.prono@cea.fr (M.P.); david.beal@cea.fr (D.B.)
3 Département Biomédicale et Chimie Inorganique, Laboratoire National de Métrologie et D’essais,F-75724 Paris, France; Enrica.Alasonati@lne.fr (E.A.); Paola.Fisicaro@lne.fr (P.F.)
4 Department of Public Health and Pediatrics, University of Torino, 10126 Torino, Italy;enrico.bergamaschi@unito.it*Correspondence: marie.carriere@cea.fr (M.C.); ivana.fenoglio@unito.it (I.F.)

Abstract:
Background:
Oral exposure to titanium dioxide (TiO2) is common since it is widely used in ood and pharmaceutical products. Concern on the safety of this substance has been recently raised, due to the presence of an ultrafine fraction in food-grade TiO2. Discrepancy exists among data reported in in vitro and in vivo studies on intestinal acute/chronic toxicity of TiO2. This might be due to the different biological identity of TiO2 in traditional in vitro test by respect in vivo conditions.

Full paper : https://iris.unito.it/retrieve/handle/23...arucco_2020.pdf

Lesley  
Lesley
Posts: 37
Date registered 12.18.2019


   

Brave new world revisited: Focus on nanomedicine
Risk Management Framework for Nano-Biomaterials Used in Medical Devices and Advanced Therapy Medicinal Products

Xobor Create your own Forum with Xobor